In Today's Views...

By LovePopcorn

2011challenge - Father

I thought I would go to the park after church on Father's Day and take a blip of some dad holding his little kid because most of the neighborhood is so family oriented; the carnival was still at the park, people always picnic there on the weekends, and there are two playgrounds in which the kiddies can play.
I went all around the park for quite a while and only saw ONE dad holding his son. These two had finished playing and were on their way to the car. I did snap a blip, but it was so blurred that I deleted it.
I was dumbfounded that the majority demographic group in my neighborhood does not seem to have dads that physically interact with their children! (p.s. the guy I blipped and deleted earlier was from a different demographic group)
I then opened my eyes and REALLY looked around.
All the little kids were being carried by their moms, and older siblings (male as well as female).
All the dads were walking (dare I say strutting) about 4 feet away from their family as they moved through the park area.
Then I realized that most of the time when I see the adult males in the area they are either
1. playing soccer (or yelling advice from the sidelines) or
2. gathered in groups at homes drinking beer (and sometimes barbecuing).
It suddenly struck me that when these families have all those birthday parties at their houses they always split into two groups: Adult females and children or adult males.
That was quite a cultural anthropological study for the weekend! Needless to say there was no Father blip to post on Father's Day.
I went to the San Diego Zoo. I saw many dads holding their kids! I blipped !
This father was my choice.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.