The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Ducked

There is a phrase birders use when they miss something wanted to see. They say a bird "dipped on them".

Today I had the car. I had planned on a days birding with the camera, but poor light and more rubbish weather meant I was house bound all morning. Mind you, I would have missed the two murders in the garden. One of the local cats took a blue tit fledgling, and then a sparrowhawk came out of nowhere and took .. well a sparrow!

Alas .. no camera, and the camera trap is in the kitchen! I did manage to finally see the Greater Spotted Woodpecker family.

Lunchtime the sun finally broke out, and I decided to pop down to Forest Farm Nature Reserve. I was on the hunt for a Kingfisher. I knew they were there, as I had seen this image of one on Flickr. I even knew where that branch was!

So off I trundle to the hide ... and I watch a stick for an hour. I did manage to see a Bearded Tit and a Grey Wagtail (why are they yellow??), but no Kingfishers! I walked the length of the canal ... nothing. Walked back to the hide. The two people leaving said "The Kingfisher just flew past". Half an hour later ... nothing.

So I lucked out! But the best thing about Forest Farm .. you might luck out .. but you will never will duck out! They always pose beautifully for you there!

So sorry .. no Kingfisher, will try again next week .. you will have to make do with this lovely lady instead!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.