Compost Mentis

By megatonlove

War

The war against slugs is underway. Again.

With all the rain we've had, our garden is under attack by an invading armada of gastropods. I'm not talking about a few dozen here. They come in their hundreds and level everything in sight, including plants that slugs are supposed to hate. Over the years, we've tried every kind of slug repellant and each one has failed. They're even impervious to triple-fermented Belgian beer, the little bastards.

I have a salt shaker and I'm not afraid to use it.


If anyone's planning to tell me off about cruelty to slugs, don't bother. You have no idea how heart-breaking it is to see happy, healthy vegetables and flowering plants turn into ragged stumps overnight.

There are no slugs in this picture. The less I see of them, the better.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.