Appertunity

By appertunity

Extraordinary in the ordinary

I sometimes play a game, alone or with a friend, you have to guess someone's occupation or tell a little story about their life.

Where are they going? Where have they been? What's their biggest secret?

Train-stations, bus stations & airports are good for this. (There's a pub version where you each put 50p in to buy them a pint then actually go ask them! I've made a few friends that way.)

My point is that I think this is where my love of street photography comes from. My ex called it nosiness I call it curiosity.

It's a bizarre contradiction but in large city's the more we look the less we see.

We have all become anonymous ghosts floating through a post modern hall of mirrors seeing nothing but labels.

The ordinary becomes so ordinary that we no longer look never mind see!

...but when you do look you again you start to see again.

Street photography forces us to look so that the ordinary becomes the extraordinary again.

There us no such thing as ordinary just our jaded imaginations.

Every face in the crowd has a tale to tell...

Everyone has at least one secret that would break your heart!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.