Geoff Davis / Folk School

By bluestone

Eloise's Barn

Many years ago one of my students lived on this farm. The house was torn town over ten years ago to make way for new development. The barn remains and the land is still undeveloped. There's a school across the street and the bulldozer's are closing in.

Chassie, my student who lived here, was a sweet child. One day she brought one of her barn kittens to school for me to give to my oldest daughter. We named the tiny kitten Eloise. Unfortunately she had health issues and didn't send much time with us, but she remembered fondly -- as is the barn where she was born.

This road was unpaved when I was growing up, the farms are gone. I will drive this road -- some day in the next year or two -- and find this barn gone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.