All Dressed Up

Tonight I had to go to a cocktail party that I've been dreading for weeks. When I found out Mr. Apple was going to be away and would therefore not accompany me, I began to dread it even more. But, I pulled myself together, borrowed a cocktail dress from a friend (the absolute best thing to do because you a) don't spend any money b) don't have to store it in your house c) get a whole closet of dresses to choose from and d) get to wear something you wouldn't necessarily pick out for yourself), flat ironed my hair and got all dressed up. I wish you could see my shoes because they were perfect and they made me feel smokin' hot. Tonight was also pretty much the public debut of my tattoo since the combination of cold weather and conservative situations means it hasn't been on display much. I went to the party and actually had a lovely time.

A nice couple very genuinely asked me about my tattoo and I was told that I "wear it like I've always had it". The wife called it "my artwork". It led to a discussion about my father and it turns out the husband is currently losing his father. I was able to give some comfort and advice, though I know how little that will mean. It felt very good for me to be able to talk about it though with someone else who understands. Like the man said, you're either in the club or you're not. I often said "It's like joining the worst club in the world." but that's how it feels. People who aren't in the club just don't get it (blessedly for them).

p.s. Check out my lazy cats on the couch!
p.p.s. Constrast to yesterday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.