Clark Tales

By cclark

In this spot 19 years ago...

...My parents, my brother and I cut our farewell cake at our leaving party for Hong Kong. My cousin Ross in the white t - shirt in front thought he'd help. I cant believe it was so long ago, I'm grateful I remember so much, considering I was only 6 when we left to go there. Before the mammoth move my parents sent my brother and I down to London to stay with our grandparents, aunts and uncles for 2 weeks so they could concentrate on sorting out the packing etc. They then joined us and we had a family party. A few days later when we left, we took 2 cars to the airport, I cried all the way there, as I didn't want to leave my Nan. My uncle peter was quite distressed at how upset I was that he let me use his BRICK of a mobile phone so I could call the grandparents who had not travelled with us to the airport. We had plans for a holiday back to the UK to see them in 18 months but for a 6 year old that was almost a life time; in fact the 13 hour flight we were about to take was a life time!

Tuesday was a great day of memories hence this blip. Granddad now has vascular dementia so memory has become a big deal in this house now, more so than ever before. However I have had a fab morning out running errands with the granparentals. While Nan dashed to the other end of town granddad and I went for a coffee and a sit down and compared RayBan's, as he owns a few. He's still got an obsession with his hair looking sleek and wearing the coolest shades, I hope he never looses that. In the evening my Nan got a well deserved break and spent a night at the Royal Albert hall with my Aunt, seeing Michael Ball. So my other Aunt and cousins came by and we all had dinner with granddad and went through some old pictures, you wouldn't have know he had any issues with his memory. x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.