Two Thousand Photos

By ajinternational

Western Harbour

Directly opposite from Ocean Terminal Shopping Centre are these modern apartment blocks.

Built on reclaimed land, they form part of the Western Harbour Development.

The view over the Firth of Forth to the fields of Fife is picturesque, but turning round and looking back at the undulations of Edinburgh's skyline is even more impressive.

This is one place to get a clear view of the nightly fireworks that accompany the Edinburgh Military Tattoo. Or even the fireworks for Hogmanay.

If you're looking for somewhere round here to stay, why not try Ocean Serviced Apartments - a great base for anyone visiting Edinburgh with a car (parking in town is a nightmare - leave the car and take the bus into town!) And a 24 hour Asda near by too.

Incidentally, Ocean Terminal is also home to the Royal Yacht Britannia, one of Edinburgh's premier tourist attractions. Just don't take any photos in here... Standing at the window, looking out over the water with my DSLR, I had a security guard come up to me, asking if I had permission to film. Apparently 'Big Brother' has been watching me, I shouldn't be taking any photos, especially as this may pose a security risk to nearby boats and I should 'know the rules' (I checked on my way out - nothing about photos - unless it's deemed as "any act constituting a criminal act"...)

However, you can pap away to your heart's content on an iphone or similar and no one bats an eyelid. Seriously. Someone needs to get off their high horse! Rant over!

I fiddled about with the colour - the enhancement gives the photo an almost computer generated 'artists impression' feel.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.