Scalloway

After the 'peerie tizzie' from his Lordship first thing this morning, (I'll spare you the details) failed to dampen my spirits too much, we visited Scalloway, the ancient capital of the Shetland Isles, lying six miles west of Lerwick - 3 miles up hill and 3 miles downhill whichever way you go.

Being feint hearted, we took the easy way out and caught the bus. Compared to Lerwick with its traffic and people, Scalloway is a tiny haven of a port hugging a voe and boasting an old ruined castle, built in 1600 by Patrick Stewart, Earl of Orkney and Lord of Shetland, as his principal residence in Shetland.

The sun shone and the sea was blue until a smirr of rain suddenly blew over and we retreated indoors for a coffee until it passed.

Then back outside to wander round to the yachting port and admire the castle from the other side of the bay.

On the way we saw the memorial to the Norwegians who lost their lives during WW2, running the 'Shetland Bus' between Shetland and Norway whilst the latter was occupied by the Gemans. The 'Bus' was a series of fishing boats which took spies and equipment to the resistance fighters in Norway and also transported refugees back to the safety of Shetland.

There were few peopls about in the town today, and those that were, seemed strangely touristy, but we did speak to a young lady painting the outside of her cottage white with the deep window recesses a pale mossy green reflecting the foliage in her hanging baskets. It looked lovely.

Yesterday evening on an impulse, I visited the former home in Lerwick of my bridesmaid 40+ years ago, and discovered her youngest sister in residence there. She and her partner work in Scalloway, so before we caught the bus back to Lerwick we paid them another visit and left a Blipfoto calling card.

Sometimes impulses come good, and it was lovely to meet someone with whom I had a connection, even though I know she didn't really remember me from all those years ago when her parents and big sister welcomed me into their home with a meal and a peat fire that blazed high up the chimney.

These are the memories I have retained of Shetland and make it so special to me: the people and the welcome they give to 'Sooth Mouthers' like me.

Back to Lerwick and a huge bowl of spicy bean soup in the Peerie Shop Cafe. I can see trouble ahead!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.