Plus ça change...

By SooB

Marmande

Here is one of the types of tomato we're growing. I chose it as I was told it's a fairly typical local variety - but after I had bought them anyone I mentioned them to did that sucking in air noise that you just know means you've made a bad decision. Apparently they are not for beginners. Regardless of my beginner status and my insistence on growing them in split-open growbags with tubes in - like I saw on the BBC gardening program, they seem to be thriving. Not many big tomatoes yet, but they have only been growing for a month and there are still plenty of flowers. I will have to do a quick count and maybe stop their growing at some point so they have a chance to concentrate on the fruit.

The tomato talk is mainly to distract attention from what was really a shocking waste of a day. Somehow we managed to get up in time at our friends' house to get to our first (omg early) appointment of the day - a French lesson for the kids. Actually all that happened was they played while I chatted with the tutor about what she might do with them when we start properly. All I really wanted to do was drink a gallon of water and lie down somewhere cool and dark...

The pain continued with Katherine's riding lesson, and a shopping trip to buy a present for a birthday party she was heading too. A quick tactical nap had me able to chat appropriately at party drop-off. A long more enjoyable nap while she was at the party had me talking incomprehensibly at party pick-up (I don't nap well. Or at least, I don't wake up well.) There was also a very confusing call from someone asking if I want to buy some fois gras. I probably do, as it happens, but wasn't capable of making such decisions while having difficulty with concepts such as how my phone works.

I'm not hanging around with Irish folk any more. I can't take the pace.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.