wingpig

By wingpig

fascinated

Scott looking on in amusement at the antics of Doug's matched child-pair whilst Doug in turn observes Scott's son Noah performing his hiding-behind-the-door trick where you can't help worrying that he'll pull the door shut too quickly and trap himself between it and the baby-gate thing confining him to the room. There was only mild upset when Noah understandably set about retrieving his toys from Ross and Gregor's clutches. It can't be easy for a nineteen-month-old to have all his prized bits of coloured plastic appropriated by identical blonde children with dreamy expressions. Maybe something similar happened to John Wyndham as a kid.

(Black-and-white for the moment as my monitor has stopped showing redness on what seems to be a permanent basis. If it looks OK give me a shout and I'll replace it. Matters will be temporarily resolved tomorrow when I will be loaned another monitor until I can get back from holiday and buy a laptop. I have a spare monitor in the cupboard but as it can only show 640*480 with 65,536 colours I'll give it a miss.)

Only a wee walk this morning as we had to be in Glasgow for half past twelve for lunch at Scott (above) and Joanne's flat. A car was resting upside-down besides a tree next to the Holyrood Park Road roundabout observed by four police cars. I suspect it was the driver's own silly fault as they had ripped a 30mph sign embedded in an 300kg lump of concrete out of the ground on their way across the verge. I was mildly equipmentally nervous about approaching the scene too closely in case the polices took offence so I didn't get anything really usable from it. One fun upshot was that I had to slightly modify the wee thingby I use to rename the default picture names assigned by the camera to the more useful yyyy-mm-dd_hh-mm-ss etc format to make it able to cope with up to three pictures per second. Yay.

There's another one of those huge collections of giant bags full of stones waiting at the bottom of the hill. Last time there was such a pile it became a pavèd staircase which completely spoiled the interesting route up and prevented you from descending by sliding down the gully. They had better not be thinking of doing something similar to the path which rises along the top of the crags. Probably are though. At least it might encourage more people to go up the better bits of the hill more often. Have to feel sorry for the poor buggers who have to hand-install stone paths up a windy hill in the middle of winter too. Still, at least it gets them outside in the fresh air.

After repeated extensive searching of all three cupboards I eventually found my proper tripod last night tucked behind my amp which is currently behind the headboard of the bed. Whilst weetripod is extremely wonderful I'm going to have to modify it slightly to stop the ball joint slipping with the slightly increased weight of its new master. My mother has these sort of flat, blue pads she uses for unfastening stubborn lids constructed from a sort of anti-teflon grippy substance. A little strip of it can perhaps be cunningly thieved when we pop down on Tuesday. I'm sure she won't notice and it is in a good cause.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.