The Daily Bun

By pennybun

Butterfly 11: Large skipper

At least, I think so, and hope someone will correct me if I'm wrong. Today I did leg 8 of the Sheffield Country Walk - Meadowhall to Treeton. Although this is not a very glamorous-sounding walk, I have to say, it is possibly my favourite because of its variety. I wasn't sure of the wisdom of undertaking it as the forecast was a bit iffy, but I was lucky in that the rain didn't really get started until I was in sight of the bus stop at the end.
To illustrate the variety, I'll just say it includes a large retail park, a canal, a long flight of locks, a marina, an industrial estate, a cemetery, a stunning area of heathland with 360 views, a redundant airport, a meadow full of highland cattle with skylarks singing overhead, a golf course, a river walk (The Rother) and a reed marsh. Beat that! In spite of a stiffish breeze, the most productive part of the walk for wildlife was the heathland, which was full of butterflies and moths, so I got out my macro lens and got shooting. The skipper got the blip because I'm counting up butterflies as well as birds, but you can see some of the other shots on my Flickr Photostream. The number of 6 spotted burnets was truly amazing - I don't think I've ever seen so many.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.