Cairistiona

By Cairistiona1

Crossing bridges.

This morning, in the last remnants of sleep induced haze, I thought I had been transported back to the middle ages. On the radio someone suggested that the humanities should be taught by THE church.

What?

Certainly, if you look far enough back all our universities were organized and run by religious institutions. Is that really the answer to the current crisis in the provision of courses in history, philosophy, ethics etc in our universities?

Which church would provide the teaching?

It wasn't said, but it seemed to be implied that it would be the Church of England - or some institution with similar ideologies. I don't for a minute think that there was any intention of taking a catholic (universal) approach to provision, but say it was. Say, that the humanities could be taught in all religious institutions. Say, for example, they could be taught in in protestant and roman catholic institutions alike.

What would this mean for the teaching of say, the history of the twentieth century in Ireland. Would the institutions in the predominantly catholic south see things differently from those in the protestant north?

Further why does anyone think THE church is better placed to teach these subjects than scientific institutions are? I am not for a minute suggesting that scientists should do this, I am merely arguing that they would make no better or worse a job of it. After all, there is a philosophy of science, there is a history of science and all scientific developments have been made in light of contemporary philosophical and historical debate.

Approaches to moral and ethical arguments can be covered too. Why does anyone think that the church is the sole guardian of these approaches to life in this country?

There is often too little link up between the humanities and science as it is. How would this cause be furthered by moving to religious provision?

For me at least, that would be a step too far. We've already crossed the bridge towards a secular education system. Why in the name of goodness would we want to move backwards?

PS I then heard someone reporting new research that warns everyone that if they are taking drugs that alter the levels of central neurotransmitters, they may run into difficulties in old age. Would have been handy if the reporters had considered for a moment that some people need these drugs - and who are going to be terrified by that kind of story. What are they meant to do? Cheers guys, you are all looking after our best interests, I'm sure.

PPS Yesterday's blip did not end well. There was nothing I could do and although they were quiet by 9pm, I kinda knew that mum hadn't come back. I went out this morning having heard a chick calling, but I found a lot of feathers and another little bird on the bleach green. I know it's just the way of things and I know that it happens, but I will never get used to it. I don't think I want to either.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.