From both sides...

I've looked at life from both sides now
From up and down, and still somehow
It's life's illusions I recall
I really don't know life at all


I first came to Edinburgh for a day on the bus with my father more than 50 years ago. We went to the Zoo and I had a ride on Sally the Elephant - an Indian elephant who was a resident there for many, many years! And a big favourite!

Since then I have been fascinated by/loved to live in the city for long spells of time. I have almost always been a south-sider. Except for two interesting years living next to a world-famous house of ill-repute in Stockbridge. (One day I will tell you about the knock on our door at 3am!)

So my view of the castle at the city centre is almost always from the south. Today I had cause to venture north, and it does look quite different. (Hint: if you ever want to watch Edinburgh's famous fireworks - New Year or Festival - you really have to come to this side for the full effect).

Anyway, maybe I need to travel around that castle more with my camera in hand.....


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.