Cat's Paw

By catspaw

Heracleum mantegazzianum

As a young teenager, I remember when the noxious effects of Giant Hogweed, Heracleum mantegazzianum, were first highlighted by Michael Barratt and his colleagues on the iconic BBC programme Nationwide. I particularly recall stories of children using its hollow stems as blowpipes and peashooters, with disastrous consequences for their skin.

Giant Hogweed grew prolifically at the time alongside the River Brent / Grand Union Canal at the foot of Boston Manor Park, very close to my home, so I was well aware of what was being talked about and always treated it with the utmost respect.

To this day I'm adept at spotting it, and today I noticed it spread out along several miles of the River Ury between Old Rayne and Whiteford/Pitcaple, where today's blip was captured.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.