Aspiring to be better

By growl3th

Eating Times

Back-Blip time as yesterday was such a full on day at the opening of the Drogheda Samba Festival.

These are the restaurant opening hours at the Salthouse Inn where some of us are staying. Gotta love Sundays here.

The festival for us started with lunch provided by the Order of Malta who we were going to be doing a drumming workshop with in the afternoon. As we were finishing lunch the guys we were to be working with came into the canteen and immediately mixed and mingled greeting us like long lost pals. It never ceases to amaze me how people with learning difficulties (or intellectual difficulties as it is in Ireland) have so much to teach their peers in the 'normal' world. Two groups of similar adults would, in my experience, sit across from each other eying the other group up suspiciously. Then they led us to the room for the workshop where everyone, without exception, had a great time drumming and dancing. Well I didn't dance I was busy at that point with my camera (that's my excuse and I'm sticking to it).

From there it was back to the main hotel to open the festival with Caraoisa Samba and then onto McPhails for an evening performance.

More pics here.

Rounding off the evening with fish and chips and then a relaxing drink in the bar. Bliss.

Day 2 coming up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.