wander, stumble, wonder

By imo_weg

Sunset

At first it looked like not much would happen. The sky was overcast, and the sun sped towards the hills. The clouds cleared to leave high altitude cotton wool pulled tight across the sky, intertwined with blue. The sun sank behind the hills, and the sheepy clouds turned pinky, but the cotton wool remained white, fading slowly to grey. It looked like the sunset would be a bit of a no show. Then came the encore. The tufts started to gleam and shine, and the whole sky basked in glorious shades of orange. I stood on the verandah, and my camera clicked over and over as I shot this cloud and that cloud, and this silhouette and that skyline. As I turned to go inside, I noticed Mum, sitting at her sewing machine, repairing this or that. And the sunset reflecting perfectly on the windows, the colours highlighted by the dark room behind.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.