Sea Urchin

By seaurchin

This is all I can see from the small window by my bed.
I have been lying in bed hardly moving for days.
It's not good for morale :(

I went to see my GP and almost passed out in the waiting room. I had to lie down in front of all the other people waiting to be seen. It felt overly dramatic and a bit silly, but I was past caring. When I finally saw the doctor he immobilised me immediately and I was taken to the hospital by ambulance. It was strangely comforting to be so strapped up and supported and peoples faces zooming in and out of vision seemed oddly surreal. The doctor in casualty was unfriendly and dismissive. Something along the lines of "well you can't have broken your neck - you're not paralysed." Perhaps it was the end of a very long shift or perhaps he really was just a bastard. He wasn't very gentle and I didn't dare tell him I needed a wee. They gave me a big dose of co-codamol, followed by a sedative (to counteract the horrible side effects of the co-codamol). X ray after x ray show no vertebrae were broken and I was finally discharged with a neck brace and more co-codamol.

A very long day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.