Photos of things I see

By Aboak

It's not croquet, Harry

I was cycling through the Meadows today here in Edinburgh when I spotted some individuals lurking behind the hedges to my left just round from Valleyfield Street.

I then heard some dull thuds followed by some 'oooohs' and 'aaaaahs'.

With curiosity and alarm coursing through my veins in equal measure, I dismounted from my bike to investigate further.

Utilising some small fir tree branches over my face as camouflage, I peered over the top of the hedge.

To my horror, I realised I was witnessing people participating in croquet sessions in broad daylight.

I had heard rumours of croquet being played in car parks at night, where people would turn up to watch croquet or even take part themselves.

There are even some websites which describe locations where croquet will be played, and where people post videos of themselves watching or playing croquet, if you are interested.

It probably attracts thrill seekers and extroverts, but I prefer more conservative pursuits. I suppose it's just a sign of a changing world. Yet as far as I can tell, open croquet sessions are still illegal and certainly immoral.

Resisting the urge to contact the police, I took a photo and cycled on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.