The Life of Penguin Five

By penguinfive

Manneken Pis

O.k, it took me 420 blips to finally show you a shot of this Brussels icon. :)

My boyfriend's parents are here this weekend and they had never seen the little statue before, so we decided to have a look. The Manneken Pis is one of Brussels top touristic attractions, so it is always very crowded near the 61 cm statue. I was surprised that he was wearing one of his costumes today, because I had only seen him naked up to now! :)

Apparently this is a brand new costume that he received for his wardrobe of already more than 800 costumes. He only weares clothes on special occasions!

Don't ask me what the costume of for, because I tried to find out. The only thing I could find is that it is a "Congolais de Fosses-la-Ville" costume, but I have no idea what that means! We saw a bunch of people dressed up in the same costume marching through the streets of Brussels. Maybe it has something to do with the Belgian colonial past in Congo?

Apparently he only wore the costume from 11h30 to 18h00 today. Tomorrow he will wear a traditional Croatian costume! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.