Bristolwood and Beyond

By bristolwood

A tribute to our Wee Angus of Bristolwood

That *is* Angus to the left of the sign and the sign was made as a tribute to a little "trip" he took as a wee pup...

I belong to a forum that discusses Scottie Dogs. I joined this group even before I had Angus...He was a dream in the making! When Angus finally came to live with us, we were over the moon. My kids, then aged eleven and nine, were so happy with our tiny new pup, too.

One cold, wintry afternoon, I looked out the back of our house, through the French doors, and was totally, completely, mortified....horrified!! The kids were seated in the hot tub on the back deck. Floating gently (very gently, really) between the kids in a huge stainless steel salad bowl, was my tiny little puppy.

I immediately ran out the door, making quite a spectacle, I am sure...but this is the puppy I had awaited for a very long time!

Upon recovering from the total shock (me, not the pup!), I sat down and conveyed what had transpired to the Scottie forum. Thinking perhaps the older cronies on the board might scorn my lack of parental supervision, I braced myself.

The response was unexpectedly hysterical! Everyone inquired...*why* did I not photograph this? Truth be told, a camera was the last thing on my mind! I was so concerned about my wee pup becoming overheated or hurt, photographing this whole event would have only rekindled my anger!

One of the members happens to be an artist. As I explained the situation, the gears in her head turned and a while later, I received a signed print commemorating Wee Angus' maiden voyage!

The writing says, "May you always sail through life wearing red suspenders". This is because I had once commented that my husband calls Angus' red harness his "suspenders".

The artist sells various items through Cafe Press, and when I spotted the sign, I bought it for my husband for Father's Day. We have plans to relandscape our side garden and when we do, the sign will be placed there.

Ah, what a tribute to our wee lad...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.