Jeff Greene's Daily Photo

By JeffGreene

Ignition

This has been on my "to-try" list for some time so I thought I would set the studio up for black-out shooting and give it a shot (pun intended). I have a few other "to-do" items to shoot in a black environment, so I'll probably keep the set-up standing for awhile.

The goal here was to catch the match lighting right at the point of ignition, or shortly after. Naturally the images are the results of random chance since I have no way whatsoever to control the flames.

Recipe:
- Canon EOS 1D Mark IV
- Canon 100mm f/2.8L macro
- Canon Speedlite 580 EXII
- 1/1000sec @ f/5.6 ISO 400
- Frame Rate: 10fps
- Fill flash on Manual - 1/64 power - High Speed Sync
- Remote shutter release

The match is held in position with a plamp and then ignited with a second match just out of frame. Once the "sizzling" started, I held the shutter release and captured a full sequence at 10 frames-per-second.

Boom....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.