Sue Foll's picture of the day

By POD2008

People watching

I think I've been down just about every street in Central London apart from this one, which is Wellington Street on the south side of Covent Garden market.

The gargoyle and his mate are sitting outside Papageno, the sister restaurant to Sarastro - both names are Magic Flute references I believe. I don't do opera apart from a bit of Italian stuff when I'm in Italy and Bizet's pearl fishers.

The last time I was in Sarastro was for lunch the day I quit smoking 25th March two years ago. I slapped the patch on in the morning, then my former boyfriend and I came into Covent Garden, where we sat in the restaurant getting hammered, therefore negating any nicotine cravings I might have had with alcohol intoxication.

After which I took at taxi home to sleep for the rest of the day and he went to see Charlton Athletic lose somewhere.

Anyway, the food is Turkish and pretty basic apart from a sensational pre dinner dip they serve.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.