The Palm Tree Graveyard

Where palm trees go to die.

Beautiful. Breathtaking.

Ah, what an amazing Saturday. Mauricio had promised to take me to a local cenote (one of the ojos indigenas -- indigenous eyes) on the island. Oh my gosh, it was incredibly beautiful. Words cannot do it justice. Braving the swarms of mosquitoes through the jungle was totally worth it. The water was cool, clear, and, .. surprisingly, sparkling. Like mineral water. I cannot get over how beautiful it was. Tomàs, the white duck of the cenote, was busy filtering the water and trying to eat my fingertips. A friendly little creature, he was. As a goodbye gesture, he scared the life out of Mauricio when we were drying off to leave. Oh, how I wish I had captured his terror with my camera. I'll just have to remember it. Closing my eyes to get a mental picture.
The sunset amongst the palm tree graveyard was also.. incredible. (note to self: I need a thesaurus. I use "incredible" and "amazing" way too often.)

I have photos of the cenote, but I'll probably just post them to facebook later.
Orrrr.... here they are on flickr. Click around and see the belleza della Republica Dominicana

And then there was the Gold Cup Finals tonight. USA vs Mexico. I can't seem to recall who won though... maybe it was a tie.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.