wander, stumble, wonder

By imo_weg

The start of quite a year

Here it is people. You all complained I put too many photos on facebook, so here's the beginning of a summary of the year 2010. One photo, one day, not all days will be covered because, quite frankly, even when you're galavanting around some days are just a bit too boring to record. Who knows how long it will take me to get through them all, but I'll try for a few at a time so you're neither over- nor underwhelmed.

For those people who may have happened upon this by accident, here's the back story:

In 2010 I went on university exchange to England. I left Hobart on the 27th of December 2009, and arrived home on the 29th of December 2010. In between I studied for two semesters at the University of East Anglia (in eastern England), and had a couple of great big holiday blocks to go exploring in Germany, Italy and the UK. Here goes.


I'd been to England before, for my brother's wedding, but my two weeks had been spent largely in the south. This time my brother collected me from Heathrow we headed to his place. I don't remember all that much from that first day, except pancakes for breakfast (yes, my flight arrived that early, my brother's lovely for coming to collect me), meeting my new(ish) niece, setting up my new phone, and trying very very hard not to fall asleep during Die Hard 2 in the evening. I failed. And regretted it when I woke up at 3am thinking "sigh, why did I break my own rule?" (short nap when you arrive, then stay awake until early-normal bed time no matter how hard it is).

Day Two and I headed into London with my brother. He was working in the city after lunch, so showed me the ropes of the tube, took me on a walking tour of the city, introduced me to some important UK chain shops and cafes, and took my first 'In England' picture before setting me loose on the city to wander and explore for the rest of the day. Here it is, standing in Trafalgar Square on a cold and miserable day. And so my year began.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.