pooba.gingernut

By QuerkyPoo

KILLING FIELD

Nature certainly has a rawness about it!

I sorted this pic out yesterday when I blipped the Worm in the Herons mouth.

I had seen this branch being used as a favourite spot for Kingfisher to do their killing. They were sitting on it as their spotting place - swooping on unsuspecting crabs and flying back to the Branch. They then proceeded to WHACK the crab on each side of the branch ( you can see the wet spots ) both killing it and getting rid of the offending crab pincers. You can see the unwanted pincers from the crabs, under the branch. The pincers were obviously too sharp for kingfishers delicate digestive systems (not).

I really enjoyed this shot - I think it was good reward for preparation and planning. I used the hide - I set it up at the car and walked inside it to a spot about 15 metres away from the branch. 20 minutes later 20 shots in the can !!

I mentioned the other day Kingfishers are real spooky with about a 100 yard scare distance - but on this occassion the hide worked really well. As I was sitting there I wondered if I had positioned too close - but was pleased to see this chap arrive.

It must look funny to passing onlookers to see this moving hide - with legs underneath !!

Well I really enjoyed this shot. I hope you do too?

rgds pooba

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.