Appreciation

By Appreciation

Plastic

Some time ago I was looking for the elusive rainmate. It seems you have to wait until the festival season and summer before the shops stock them. Given the weather just now that seems appropriate. How could I resist.

My Dad loved to gesticulate with his hands - so if he talked about smoking he would raise his fingers to his mouth in a 'v' shape as if smoking a cigarette. It was part of his love of performance, all these little add ons in his conversations. I have a vivid memory of a 'summer' holiday in Blackpool where we hadn't packed any rainwear. Eventually he gave in and we visited Dunns the gentleman's outfitters. In walks my father shorts, and sandals and asks - whilst motioning the action for putting one on - for a plastic mac please. Mum and I hit the floor. It has long been a joke that we never wanted to go shopping for underwear with him.

We have remembered lots of lovely stories over the last few days and have laughed heartily. It's good to rake out old memories. I've learnt things about my father that I never knew, which have only served to enhance the man I know he was.

So why am I dressed in a Rainmate? Well I might need one in the coming days and why not laugh, it's what's keeping me sane.


For the next few days I will be away from computers and technology, but fear not the support from the community will drag me back. Thank you x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.