Happy Tau Day

Was intending to go east into Moray but the car has had a slow puncture for two or three weeks so decided to call in Inverness's car street (Harbour Road). They were very busy so I'm going back later in the afternoon. Bit of a drag but I can't be bothered getting the pump out every time I go anywhere and never know if it will turn into something worse miles from home. The BBC website reminded me (well to be honest I didn't know) that today is not just Tuesday but Tau Day. Tau is the circumference of circle divided by the radius. So it's twice as big as pi. After a bit of googling found a little about it here. There's a sort of logic to it but thinking about all the maths equations that use pi, most with no obvious connection to circles, it'll never catch on. Just go the same way as all those theories that say it's much more sensible to count in twelves instead of tens. Now what about a campaign for 10 days to the week?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.