Ramblings and Mutterings

By ValleyAllBlack

The Barbers Social Club

After putting it off for weeks, I finally bit the bullet today and went to have my haircut, and just to confirm that is my hair in the photo.

I've been going to this barber ever since I had my first hair cut when I was a little lad, and my father and grandfather also went there as well. Even though Lloyd of Lloyds Hairdressers is no longer alive, Wayne has kept it going and it's still as popular as ever. Lloyd was a heck of a character and was always cracking jokes, even though some of them were really bad on times.

It is not just a place where you go to get your haircut, it is also a venue for catching up with old friends, and it is not unusual for you to be in the chair and for someone to come in and have a chat with Wayne over a cup of tea. It even featured in one of Roy Noble's tv programmes from a few years back. The shop also looks down on the main street through town, and while I used to wait for my father I could look down and watch the world go by. Happy days!

Don't know where I would go if Wayne decided to pack it in, I've had to have emergency haircuts elsewhere, when he has been on holiday or ill, and it's just not been the same.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.