Views of my world

By rosamund

Felt

Freya and I had a craft day today. I tried my hand at Nuno felt with a kit I bought at woolfest but I think I overdid it with the fibre. There should be more spaces where you can see the background fabric come through which ends up all ruched as the fibres felt around it. Nevertheless I am still quite pleased with the result and enjoyed embellishing it with beads and stitching.

Freya made herself a bag for the summer holidays which we finished off together on the sewing machine.

I did a spot of weaving on Big Bertha the floor loom tonight and finally gave myself permission (thanks to woolfest) to put an end to the project I was working on. I got Bertha last summer and had no idea what to do with her, by the time I had the confidence to figure it out I had damaged my ankle and was in a cast ie no fit state to attempt to warp and use a floor loom with 8 pedals! Once I could got into it I discovered a couple of mistakes in the warp which i had to work round as I was too inexperienced to fix them. Now I am no expert in the field of weaving but I have had a bit more practice on the table loom so feel ready to give it a go with something more inspiring while I'm off and have the time to dedicate to it. I finished off the project I had started way back last September - it's maybe big enough to be a place mat for my dining table, its not much to look at it but it taught me a lot as a test piece so will always be treasured for the lessons I have learned.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.