Eric Sekera

A new load of builder's sand was delivered to the building site of our new classrooms,(see my blip for 16 May, if you want, since I can't do 'links' tonight, seems like my firewall setting suddenly wants to be changed and I haven't got time to fiddle around now)) for the builders to do the plastering of the building. Our financial director called me to take a picture of what Eric Sekera, a Malawian plasterer on site, 'sculptured' out of the sand! I had lots of fun doing this picture! The other members of the building team, apparently all Malawians, positioned the little white bucket, and we had to 'donate' a few Rand each, when we 'visited the exhibition'! ;-)

I took a few snaps, walked back to my office to download the pics, and the headmaster said I must print a picture for him! He was totally overwhelmed when I returned with some cash to put in his little bucket, and to give him a printed picture of him with his art! It is such a heart warming experience to see someone appreciating such a small gesture so deeply!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.