CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Swifts in Stroud

I walked down into town to meet two of my fellow Trustees of the Preservation Trust who had agreed to advise the Council about potential for grant funding for the newly acquired Lansdown Hall.

I passed by the rear of one of the buildings the Trust had saved and then rebuilt back in the 1980s. I had noticed a lot of birds flying nearby and suddenly I noticed two of them trying to enter this hole. They flew off and I quickly got my camera out so that when they returned I was nearly ready.

I presumed they had eggs or young in the hole, but I think now that they were doing a site visit to size up its potential as a nest. Immediately after his shot, the other bird arrived and tried to enter until the first bird reversed out and they both took off. this shot is the only one nearly in focus, so will have to do as a blip.

If you are interested you can see some old photos of this building 32-34, High Street, Stroud from when it was due to be demolished to make way for a ring-road, and just before the Trust and many locals stepped in to campaign against the madness.

Stroud Preservation Trust

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.