Appreciation

By Appreciation

Golden

It's the sound of silence, of no doors knocking, no phones ringing, no people chatting, no heavy sighs.

It's the sound of my heart beating at a normal pace, of my legs gaining strength and my head staying still.

It's returning home, but not without guilt. It's stealing time to be at the allotment and a time to settle.

My mother-in-law left us with cake, so with a slice in my pocket I visited the canal. There was no need for inspiration tonight. The sun was low, the light was golden. I couldn't decide which shot to post they were all so beautiful. I went alone, although was given a concerned curfew. It's clear to see the strain on my face, but these few moments stolen, basking in the golden light were just right. I can feel the smile returning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.