how it is

By flashmaggie

Audrey at the gate

This is the way from the first part of my garden to the second, through a couple of arches, past the apple tree, to where I grow a few veggies and stuff. Audrey, silhouetted at the gate (which is always wedged open, so the pheasants can wander through whenever they feel like it), was considering which way to go and possibly thought she was invisible in the shade. She doesn't bother much with birds but small rodents better look out.

There's a nest somewhere in the clematis over the apple tree. I can't see it but I can hear the baby birds, especially when a parent flies in with food and they all clamour for it. There are lots of birds in my garden because I feed them and because there are lots of trees and shrubs. I seldom listen to music when I'm pottering about because that would drown out the sound of birdsong, which I prefer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.