Was It Really So Long Ago

By LincolnGreen

Three Six Five

A bottle of wine is open in tribute to Blipfoto and one member in particular.

I discovered Blipfoto in early spring last year. Thanks to a good number of twitter friends, I stumbled into posting a photo a day. I soon became hooked and a self-confessed comment tart. Others have followed in my wake and even surpassed my efforts. But above all, blip is much more than a photo sharing site. It's got soul!

It is a successful community of members with a broad range of photographic abilities. Some are looking to improve, others are content to focus on the story. Oh yes, some are great at both and are more than willing to share hints and tips. The pictures, the invariably engaging stories, the collaboration and generous comments open a window to peoples lives. That's what give this place soul.

I planned to take a photo a day for at least a year but missed the first entry at around 200. I personally hold blip equally responsible for me buying two cameras since I started and the improvement in my photography. Although I didn't make it to the unbroken 365, I can't imagine life without it and will be continuing for some time yet.

I thank all of you who have subscribed and commented on my journal, the fine folks at blipcentral and those twiiter friends who first introduced me.

Today's picture is a local shot towards the setting sun over the River Stour at Manningtree. My daughters and I picnicked on the grass verge, before a look at some wildlife and then home to mum who was tidying unhindered.

My choice of wine sat prominently on the shelf of the local supermarket. I had to buy a bottle. The name?

Tuscan Red.

I hope you like it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.