Channel

By stephenfr

black suit blur

Blurred right into the middle of a workweek, it's often a struggle to find where you are or where you are going. The blending of the days for me has left me feeling directionless at times. Standstill traffic on highways. Constraining walls of the workplace. Stop and go. Even when there are different things happening, it still all can seem pretty dismal and repetitive.

At work, I had to arrive an hour early to be a part of a bridal pageantry kind-of show. I dressed up in a black suit--I had to represent the men's wardrobe being the only (available and willing) male in the Activity department. The presentation was a hit for the elderly. It gave them the chance to look at all of the diverse wedding garb and reminisce of their own wedding or any wedding they've ever attended. It was really funny to watch the reactions on their faces with each new model. They seemed to be floored by the fashion show! I guess since I was the lone guy of the group, I received all the "you look so handsome!" and the "he's MY man" comments throughout the rest of the night I was work which was both flattering and embarrassing. Wasn't too sure how to respond, but I just said thanks and tried to throw a couple jokes in here and there.

Other than that, it was just another humdrum day. I'm not really complaining--it's the motion of days that leaves me feeling in a fog of not knowing what is or should be in focus. But maybe in this flurry of time, this busy and fast-paced cycle of life, if one thing sticks out and is worth remembering, it is worth writing about and pondering in the future. It finds clarity in the unclear making all of it worthwhile.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.