The Little Lyle Files

By kevinwatters

The New Bell

Becky was at home today as it was a teacher training day at her school and I took the day off to look after her and get younger brother to and from pre-school (his childminder is on holiday). Becky is a bit envious of her little brother who gets me for most of the day on Thursdays as she feels that she doesn't get any dedicated Daddy time so this morning was dedicated to her.

She asked me to put the new bell on her bike that we bought yesterday and so I duly fitted the bright red High School Musical bell and, having done so she asked if she could ride up and down the lane at the back of the garden. I duly agreed and decided it would be worthwhile taking some photos that may match the Friday challenge of "Where I Live" as this is one of the lovely lanes that run through our town and this one right along the back of our garden.

At lunchtime, we went to pick up Alex and take him to the barber to get his hair chopped as he had been very upset when he realised that I had forgotten to do it yesterday (our kids are weird - most kids hate having their hair cut but ours love it). Then off to have lunch.

We went for lunch at Leo's, a soft play area in a leisure centre in St Neots (Becky's choice) as they do a really good lunch and fairly decent coffee which can be enjoyed as the kids let off steam in the soft play area. They had a ball of a time and I only had to climb in once to free Alex's foot that had got trapped when it went through a webbing floor. Following a very full lunch, I had a coffee and a sneaky (but sizable) chunk of Victoria Sponge and read my book while occasionally watching the tennis once it started on the TV.

Then home where Becky chose to have tea in the garden and both she and Alex played nicely and even tidied up when I called them in (to be fair I had bribed them with the promise of chocolate) and Alex got into the bath happily in the knowledge that it was a hair wash night. Becky passed on the bath as she had requested to have a shower instead.

I tell you all this because, when she was asked by her mum what was her favourite part of the day, she instantly cited cycling out in the lane at the back with Daddy. Just goes to show that we often spoil them with activities and gifts because we think it will feel special, when all they really want is our time.

Today's choice of blip ended up being a no brainer. Happy Daddy Day all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.