Plus ça change...

By SooB

Round the Back

This is an unintentional rubbish panorama of our new back garden. (Unintentional in that I didn't think of doing a panorama, not that it's unintentionally rubbish.)

The tree on the left, with scale provided by Mr B lurking below it, may be for the chop, though Mr B has since decided maybe he does quite like it after all. The two huge ones on the right are definitely staying. One is home to a very large bird of prey that we decided was a white tailed eagle - until we came home and could find no such bird in our 'Birds of Europe' book. Maybe it was just an odd looking buzzard with a white tail and head.

Today was mostly a work day. Morning moving much scaffolding off the stairs (geometry, physics and muscular skills all needed), so we could then carry 25 sheets of plasterboard upstairs. Mr B's bad back called a halt to that and an early lunch. Post lunch there was an incident at a car wash that has caused some kind of falling out that I don't quite understand. You know when you've upset someone but they won't tell you why and no matter how many times you go over it in your head you can't figure it out - well it's like that. Anyway, that meant an afternoon of separate working: Mr B manhandling more plasterboard and me clearing the upstairs rooms ready for floor sanding. I found a ton (almost literally) of lego and several original Star Wars toys (ie 1970/80s versions) so the kids will be delighted. Also many crosses and crucified Christs, which I don't quite know what to do with - it seems somehow impolite to throw them out.

The evening has seen a continuation of my battle against wildlife. More mouse holes subjected to water jet treatment and being filled in with stones and dirt. I still have more than half of my bean seedlings left so that's not too bad. I think I'm being penalised for planting too late. I have at least figured out that my butternut squash were being overwatered: now that I've given them a break from watering, a bunch of new leaves have arrived and the plants look like they're going somewhere. The aubergines are looking a bit yellow and curled up though - maybe I'm being overenthusiastic with them too?

Main problem today though is the hare. We are lucky to have hares here - we see them every morning on the way to school (no rabbits, just hares). But since the barley has been cut down, they have free access to my garden. So, the sunflowers outside the top garden have all gone, and last night they (he?) took half the sunflowers from right in front of the terrace. I had no time to sort out a fence this morning, and the other half disappeared during the day. Happily the ones still in their planting pots (stored for reasons I forget now between the cars) are still there and are now inside the house, awaiting safe planting inside a fenced garden tomorrow. The reason I'm so bothered about the sunflowers is that the kids planted them, and nearly cried when the first lot went.

I chased the hare away a few times tonight and, after some internet research have sprinkled chilli water all around my lettuces (not fenced in) and tomatos (ditto). Tomorrow I will have to figure out some fencing around that - not attractive but necessary to protect those lovely fat tomatoes I think.

Anyway. Today was the kids' last day at school for eight weeks or so. Some last minute present buying after eroneous information from Katherine's friend who laughed at her idea of buying presents for teachers (but mysteriously had lots of presents to hand out at finish time. hmmmm odd that.) Another friend told us that it is not ubiquitous but not unknown. So we did. Conor was horrified enough that his teachers (two of them in nursery) kissed him when he left - as he will be in primary school next year - but even more so when they kissed him again after the present! Every time he 'wiped off' the kiss they added another. Poor lad.

I'm writing too much, I know that, but sometimes I just have to write it down or I'd forget. Too much is going on just now, and I don't want to forget a minute of this strange and wonderful change in our lives. It's ok if you don't read it though. Perhaps I'll start putting a wee summary at the top.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.