Annie's In Oregon

By anniescottage

Oregon Dunes

Giant sand hills dot the Oregon Coast. Like a huge beach without water, you can walk for miles in the sand, get a great workout and breath the fresh air. I didn't...but you could. Well, I did breath the fresh air...and I listened to the birds.

This sand is actually right next to a neighborhood. It's 2 blocks from Mother Comfort's house and has a big sign that announces it will be developed for homes. The gentleman planning to develop it is a good friend of ours, but, is it wrong for me to be secretly happy the housing market is moving slowly so we can enjoy the sand on a sunny day a little bit longer? There certainly is a lot more sand where this came from, but once it's covered, well...it's covered.

There are many designated recreation and wilderness areas that will not be covered with homes. This time of year, the dunes are calling my name. I bought two discs or sleds to slide down the sand hills with. I'm shy of anything with a motor. My one and only trip out on the dunes riding a 3 wheeler (which have now been replaced with 4 wheelers or quads) I headed up a hill and went directly over backwards. That scared me. I don't do that any more. Hopefully, we will go play tomorrow. If we don't break anything, I'll tell you all about it! If we do, I'll probably tell you that too!

Here's the one I almost chose if you're interested.

Happy Saturday!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.