Bristolwood and Beyond

By bristolwood

Where do I begin?

Oh my, what a busy full-to-the-brim day!

We dropped our daughter off at a friend's house this afternoon, then headed on down to the tiny town of Hammondsport, at the south end of Keuka Lake. Located right on the lake, the town is home to an awesome museum called the Glen Curtiss Museum.

We always think of the names Orville and Wilbur Wright when we consider the pioneers of flying, however, Mr. Curtiss lived a most incredible life and certainly contributed a great deal toward the endeavor!

The museum has breathtaking models and artifacts that might just make one want to linger for hours. We arrived at the museum at about 3pm and one of the ladies said it might take an hour or hour and a half to visit the exhibits. No way...Husband, being a mechanical engineer, could easily spend more than an entire day just studying displays....

I took so many photos, I ran my battery down to nothing! We finally had to leave the museum as it closes at 5pm.

Upon leaving, Husband thought we ought to check out the town of Hammondsport, so we drove in that direction. Upon arriving in the town, we noticed people sitting along Main Street in lawn chairs. We asked and were told there was going to be a parade!

Since Hammondsport is such a small town, we found a parking spot right on the very route the parade would travel. I dropped the tailgate on the truck and got the most awesome vantage point from which to take photos of the parade!

Since this parade is to celebrate America's birthday, there were flags flying everywhere! I took so many photos, I thought my eyeballs would spin in trying to sort through them and figure out my Blip for today.


I finally settled upon this photo. I love the fireman's handlebar moustache, the bright yellow color of the truck itself, and the lovely tribute to September 11, 2001.

Let me tell you, it is hard not to be patriotic when the Fourth of July rolls around, There was also a fabulous Pipe and Drum Corps from Corning, and it made it pretty hard to click as they marched on by playing "Scotland the Brave".....my poor eyes just kept tearing up!

Oh, how I love a parade!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.