Jay's Wildscapes

By jay

Flipping Plonker!!

The ancient woodland path that I tread every day with my hound Tommy is bounded on both sides by old gnarled trees, clothed in ivy. It's been this way for all of the 40 years I've frequented the place. And will have been the same for centuries I imagine.

The mid winter flowers of the ivy provide a much needed energy boost for winter flying moths, and early bumblebees. Hoards of bird nest in the ivy draped branches, safe from predation. Invertebrates teem in their multitudes amongst the tendrils and runners. The ivy does little or no harm to their host trees, but the combination of ivy and limb makes a habitat far, far richer for wildlife.

A few weeks ago a well meaning, but misguided plonker spent a hour or two with a saw cutting the ivy plants from their roots, obviously thinking they were saving the trees. So now every tree is sad and heavy with dying ivy. I wish I knew who did it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.