Ralph Cooper

By ralphcooper

Welcome to the Lake District

If you arrive in the Lake District on the A590, this is the first place in the Lake District National Park to greet you.

It is the limestone cliff of White Scar.
More reminiscent of Yorkshire than the Lakes.

I took this from the old A590. The modern day A590 runs a couple of 100m to the South and parallel to the old road.

Today I decided to get one of the bikes out and go for a ride. I clocked up 58 miles and 3700ft of ascent.

Which was a bit silly really as I've not ridden further than 20 miles at a time yet this year. My backside is regretting my decision.

My route took me through Penny Bridge, Bouth, Haverthwaite, Cark, Cartmel, Grange-Over-Sands, Meathop, Witherslack and out to Gilpin Bridge. Return by roughly the same route.

I met Elvis in Witherslack. I did, honest!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.