Squiffy by the Sea

By squiffy

Triffid

Does anyone know what this is ?

its about the size of a thumbnail, probably the same size of a clover flower but grows on thick daisy like stems. It grows on our lawn and I guess most people would call it a weed as we didn't put it there but as I like it I prefer call it a flower.

The lawn was once pasture for the farm and has had animals on it for hundreds of years so we don't like to mess with it too much. If we like what appears we keep it and call it a plant, if we don't we mow it and call it grass.

This little chap has appeared in the grass but I like it so it has caused a bit of confusion in our simple plan. Eventually we mowed it but I am pleased to report it doesn't seem to mind and comes back with the clover, daisies and buttercups.

I have asked around and everyone says they recognise it and it often grows in fields around here but no one has come up with a name.

Personally I think it looks like a collection of baby triffids but I watch too much SiFi so you are probably best ignoring a lot of what I think !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.