HIPPO!!!!

Never in my wildest dreams did I think when I left home today, that this woudl be my blip.

Our usual GREAT Monday off was back today after Terri spent last Monday in HArbin for work. We decided to take a train trip to a small city near shenyang called Fushun. It was about an hour by train and the train was awesome.

We had a great lunch (if a little expensive) then climbed a small mountain to see a Buddhist pagoda and look at the city from above. When we came back down, we went to a very large and beautiful park near the city centre. When we got to the entrance, there was a sign for a zoo. "This will be funny", I thought. A zoo in a park. When we got to the entrance, there was a huge banner up displaying all kinds of exotic animals. The banner had tigers, lions, bears, a camel, a hippo, seals, ostriches, and of all things a Cassowary. At the entrance, where we paid a mere 15 yuan each to get in, I joked that the place prolly actually had three chickens and a sick pigeon.

Well, most all the animals were there. We were shocked. There were also numerous other birds and animals including a 5 legged cow. The living conditions of the animals left a lot to be desired by modern standards but it was still pretty well run.

And there it was. The hippopotamus. The first one I have ever seen and I see it in a small zoo in a small city in the north east of China.. What a crack!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.