Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Let us prey...

Is it just me - or does this horsefly remind anyone else of Hercule Poirot? This is a female of Hybomitra distinguenda which sucks blood, mostly from deer and cattle. You can see the piercing mouthparts used to inflict the painful bite and it's a bit unnerving watching it through the macro lens, slowly moving towards you. But the eyes are totally wonderful - the three dark bands are characteristic of this genus - and you can see all the individual facets which are surprisingly colourful (view large for best effect).

It's been a funny old day, warm and sticky again. I was up early as Alex had to get to Shuttleworth College for 9.30am, which involved a twenty minute walk, a thirty minute train ride and a trip in a taxi at the far end. I just hope it'll be easier when the college buses are running - and that we haven't been overambitious. Apparently most of the day was spent doing paperwork - and wasn't very interesting. He's shattered this evening - and he has to do it all again tomorrow!

In the afternoon I ended up at the dentist. Last week's treatment hadn't sorted out the infection, so I had to have the tooth opened up again, more drilling and then a topical antibiotic applied. If that doesn't work they'll give me a course of sytemic antibiotics - but I'd rather avoid that if I can. So all in all, I feel a bit the worse for wear and will probably head off to bed soon.

PS Thanks for all the lovely comments on yesterday's woodpeckers - it was a great privilege to see them. And I saw Russell today - sitting on a rooftop with his parents, looking fit and strong!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.