Treasuring Every Day

By angellica

Batty Moss Viaduct

Saturday was spent in a very leisurely way. We had a very slow breakfast, followed by a good couple of hours at Helwith bridge trying to locate a geocache on a tree island in the middle of a river. Once that was done, my children spent AGES trying to skim stones on the river. Andrews best was 5 skips.

It was just TOO hot to do anything else. Once the novelty had worn off, we went across the road to the Helwith Bridge pub for light refreshments. I would recommend it if passing! It was full of railway memorabilia, and brewed its own bitter.

We then went to the famous Pen-y-ghent cafe, in Horton-in-Ribblesdale where we had a welcome pint mug of tea and watched the exhausted walkers returning to clock out and get their memberships of the Yorkshire Three Peaks club. Just across the road from the cafe is another geocache. I had retrieved it before we got our drinks and took it back to sign the log. I still had it in my possession when a family headed straight for GZ. I had to go and own up! No idea who it was either.

Once that was done, we headed towards the famous Ribblehead viaduct. I managed to take this photo with completely the wrong settings, but I like it!

Oops, didn't quite mean to turn this into an essay!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.