UNCAUTIOUS OPTIMISM

By samanthamarcy

Independence Day!

Happy Birthday, America!!

It is crazy over here in Back Bay! Over 800,000 people are expected to visit the esplanade for the Boston Pops Fireworks Spectacular. It is an orchestrated music/fireworks show. People have been camped out overnight hoping to get a good spot. It is fun to see the hoopla in my neighborhood, but it also makes me glad that holidays like this only happen once per year--and next year we'll be far away from the spectacle.

This gentleman was sitting on a stoop a few doors down from our building. In quest for a patriotic blip, I asked if I could snap his photo. I think I made him feel very special!

Now the big decision is, to go to bed early like I hoped, or go see the fireworks which don't start until 10:30pm!! We'll probably go, because the Blue Angels are going to keep me awake regardless. And, this is our last summer in Boston proper...when in Rome indeed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.