Channel

By stephenfr

fireworks, fourth of july

What a night! It's Independence Day here in the United States. And where I am today, at my girlfriend's apartment in North Bergen, there's a lively community crowding the streets enjoying the holiday to it's fullest. Since the town sits right along the Hudson River, Brittanie and I were able to catch the fanfare of the NYC Macy's Fourth of July fireworks display and it was, literally, a blast! The fireworks were a spectacular sight with the one-of-a-kind city backdrop and having a great amount of people present just made it all the more special. I couldn't have asked for a better holiday night!

At work today, we had a big social with the residents in the dementia unit where we ate red and blue Jell-O with white whipped cream in between and sang all the patriotic numbers appropriate for today! It was very nice watch them sing along and enjoy their time. Many of them served in the military in war-time so it was also very nice to pay tribute to them. One resident even asked if I was going to join the military when I "grow up" (confused by my age, I assume).

As people continue to set fireworks of their own and police sirens blare, I am enjoying the rest of this Fourth of July.

-SFR

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.