Return to the North

By Viking

This is dedicated to the one I love!

I am sure she will blip it herself at some point and in some way, but this is the transcript my sister Andrea received by email yesterday. And boring blip as it might be I just wanted to shout to the world how proud I am of her.
She always thought of herself as the dumb one in the family, leaving school with Art 'O' Level. She went off to do various jobs, bar work, factory work etc and then at the grand old age of 38 decided she was going to try and do a degree. (She'd had a couple of aborted attempts through a distance learning course a couple of years previously)
A year after I moved out here she came out for 6 months, sold her house, gave up her dead end factory job and thought about 'What next?' She went back to the UK, went to the local college and enrolled for a degree in English and History.

Now she is an Honours graduate and not only that, she got a 2:1 (B for the kiwi's)

Words can't describe how I feel! As the big sister, I have been every step of the way with her, proof reading essays, listening to the whinging, screaming and yelling in frustration and the like. (Skype has a lot to answer for!) This morning I spent a few minutes (several) listening to her say "Guess what, I've got a degree' , several times over!
Go SIS!
The book by the way shows my dedication - bought it in NZ for her as help for an essay although never got to the UK and she didn't need it anyway :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.