Tom's View

By tomsview

Stormy Skies

We were woken up by thunder at about 3am this morning, Mrs Tomsview nudged me and reminded me that there were beach towels out drying on the line so I reluctantly got up and wandered outside to bring them in.

Where we are staying is about 10 metres from the beach so I thought I'd have a quick look at the lightening storm happening out to sea. After realising how consistent the sheet and fork lightening was, I thought I'd try my hand at capturing it before the heavens opened.

With no tripod to use I had to rest the strap under the front of the camera and place it on the promenade and then using 30 second exposures I managed to get this shot which I was very pleased with! Had there been more time before the heavens opened I would have moved further away from the floodlight which was behind me, but sadly the rain started to fall so I didn't get chance.

After looking at the image closely this morning I realised that there were some strange small lightening bolts discharging onto the beach infront of me (you can see one in the centre of the shot), so maybe it was a good thing I didn't hang around too long!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.